Bitcoin against skyscrapers

Craig Wright解释比特币的愿景

比特币系统的发明者Craig Wright博士在2022年3月8日发布了一篇新的博客文章,文章中主要讲述了比特币的愿景以及他对于其未来的期望。

鉴于Wright博士对比特币协议及其功能所进行的细致深入的分析,您将会想阅读《比特币的愿景》这篇文章,我对这篇文章的总结如下。

引言

Wright博士首先感叹道,自他在2008年向全世界讲述比特币的相关信息以来,就一直被卷入关于比特币是什么以及其用途的争论中。他说,虽然有必要将一些人告上法庭,但他对比特币的其他愿景并不感兴趣。他表示,如果人们想要构建在树莓派(Raspberry Pi)上运行的业余区块链,他们可能会这样做,但他对可大规模扩容且可用于小额支付的比特币系统所持有的最初愿景仍未改变。

随后他告诉我们,自从他以中本聪的笔名发帖以来,他一直述说比特币系统最终会成为数据中心。他表示,事实上,比特币系统最终会成为数据中心,如果我们按照Wright博士在比特币白皮书中概述的节点定义,在任何给定时间里,即使是BTC,运行的节点都不会超过四个。

在谈到他对比特币的愿景之前,Wright博士告诉我们,他对比特币的愿景如同协议一样是一成不变的。无论时间跨度有多长,对于比特币的愿景都不能也不会改变。

比特币的愿景

Wright博士首先简单列出四点来描述他对比特币的愿景。其中包括:

  • 扩容至每秒交易数十亿笔
  • 面向全球
  • 一笔250字节的交易的费用不超过千分之一美分
  • 可完全追溯并在现有法律框架内运作

他表示如果这不是您的愿景,您最好不要使用比特币。

比特币的宗旨

很多时候,比特币被加密朋克描绘成反银行的事物,他们希望如此。Wright博士重申,这从来都不是比特币的目标。他表示,比特币是一种工具,其目标是创建一个安全的电子现金系统,它可以在全球范围内促进小额支付。所述小额支付的价值应低至或低于千分之一美分。他说,该系统的目的是促进快速且简便的价值交换,而不是被应用于投机。

Wright博士说,比特币将取消所有粉尘限制,并使人们在来年能够进行一聪的交易。他描述了这将如何迫使矿工竞争并降低费用。如果矿工定的费用太低,并不会带来什么问题,但如果他们定的费用太高,他们将难以获利。

Wright博士澄清了关于比特币的一些常见误区,他表示比特币不会产生垃圾邮件之类的东西,比特币数量并不庞大,而且比特币总是受到法律秩序的冻结和扣押。他还强调应发送所有合法交易。该系统会随着交易量的增长而增长,使人们在地球上任何地方都能够进行近乎即时的价值转移,同时能够消除现有支付网络(如Visa和Mastercard网络)的所有成本。

在结尾,Wright博士解释说,协议必须保持一成不变。这样,今天所进行的交易在一年、十年或一个世纪后仍然有效。他说,如果您写入且签署交易并将其保存在链下,它会一直生效,甚至两个世纪后仍将由矿工处理。确保这一点的关键是不要更改和修补协议。他再次提醒我们他之前多次说过的话——即协议保持一成不变

为什么协议不应该改变?除其他原因外,协议保持一成不变意味着开发人员可以在今天构建一些东西,并且让它将在遥远的未来仍然能够有效。他以土地和财产登记为例,表示可以在区块链上发行长期债券和贷款,但前提是协议保持不变。

比特币的目标

在博客的这个部分,Wright博士解释了比特币的目标是什么以及不是什么。与大众的普遍看法相反,比特币系统既不会让银行倒闭,也不会让没有银行账户的人有银行账户。与银行不同,比特币系统等电子现金系统不会发放贷款或使人们能够筹集资金。Wright博士说,比特币比这更重要;它使人们能够以极低的费用转移价值。

自然而然,这样的系统具有完全不同的客户群。他说这适合所有人,尤其是穷人。对于在国外工作并汇款回家的人来说,这将意味着几乎不用花费任何费用。比特币系统可以帮助那些在发展中国家无法获得银行服务的人在安全的数字钱包中存钱。它将解决一些与无法访问银行账户相关的问题,例如不得不使用过于昂贵的支票兑现服务和发薪日贷款。

至于开发人员,Wright博士表示,比特币系统将帮助他们建立长期项目,而不必担心他们正在从事的工作会因协议变更而变得无用。这种情况已经在 BTC 和以太坊上发生过多次。

比特币系统还将帮助用户维护隐私,但这仍将完全可追溯。这将有助于减少腐败等问题。如果大笔资金转移与有组织犯罪或腐败有关,那么冻结和扣押比特币的先天能力将使执法机关得以取缔这些犯罪活动。

Wright博士再次表示,那些寻求没有规则的系统的人根本不应该使用比特币系统。比特币系统被设计为可追踪的,并且可以提醒网络,这样冻结的比特币就不会被使用。虽然有些人认为比特币系统被设计用来促进无政府状态,但Wright博士说比特币的目的是确保不产生无政府状态。

补贴目的

关于中本聪创建区块补贴的原因众说纷纭。Wright博士在这里解释了这一点。它的目的是确保为建立基于容量的生态系统提供资金,并使矿工能够接受更多交易,其中一些交易应该是没有费用的。

展望未来,Wright博士表示,如果比特币系统不能扩容到每秒进行数百万次交易,然后是数十亿次交易,它将失败。他表示,到目前为止,大部分的补贴都被那些运行中的节点浪费了,到时候他们会意识到自己方式的错误。

谈到单边合约,他在发布比特币系统时向全世界提出,他说这个合约意味着任何挖矿的人只要遵守规则,就可以通过处理交易获得报酬。他还指出,忽略将交易包括其中的必要性的矿工违反了合约就会产生后果。

Wright博士的期望

Wright博士希望看到地球上大多数人使用比特币系统“进行交易并保存他们进行交易的证据”。他希望看到比特币系统成为一个基于商品的全球交易系统。他认为央行数字货币有可能在比特币系统之上运行。

关于扩容,他希望每秒可以达到数十亿笔交易,费用为千分之一美分或更低。

谁将使用比特币系统?Wright博士希望地球上收入最低的,即每天收入不到两美元的人使用比特币。他希望看到开发人员创造出目的在于帮助这些人的解决方案。

正如他之前多次说过的那样,他认为比特币正在成为“全球管道”,连接全球的应用程序,消除对TwitterMeta所使用的基于广告的模型的需求。

Wright博士表示,除了大规模扩容、极低的费用和永不改变的固定协议之外,将比特币系统整合到现有的法律体系中将有助于最大限度地减少犯罪活动和腐败情况。

最后,Wright博士说,像BTC这样的系统不是比特币系统,而隔离见证等替代品则禁止它成为比特币。虽然他并不反对替代系统,但他确实对于将这些系统充作比特币系统存在异议。

另请观看:Wright博士在 CoinGeek 纽约大会上的主题演讲“一成不变:什么是商品?”

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Bitcoin against skyscrapers

The vision for Bitcoin, as explained Craig Wright

Dr. Craig Wright, the inventor of Bitcoin, released a new blog post on March 8, 2022. In it, he discussed the Vision for Bitcoin and what he wants to see in the future.

Given Dr. Wright’s in-depth knowledge of the Bitcoin protocol and what it’s capable of, you’ll want to read The Vision for Bitcoin. I’ve also summarized it below.

Introduction

Dr. Wright begins by lamenting that he has been dragged into debates over what Bitcoin is and what it is capable of since he told the world about it in 2008. He says that while it has been necessary to take a few people to court, he’s not interested in other visions of what Bitcoin is. He says that if people want to build hobby blockchains running on Raspberry Pis, they may do so, but his original vision for a Bitcoin system that scales massively and that can be used for micropayments remains.

He then reminds us that he has been arguing that Bitcoin will end up in data centers since he posted under the Satoshi Nakamoto pseudonym. He says that, in fact, Bitcoin has ended up that way and that there are no more than four nodes running even BTC at any given time if we go by Dr. Wright’s definition of nodes as outlined in the Bitcoin white paper.

Before moving on to his vision for Bitcoin, Dr. Wright reminds us that his vision is set in stone, just like the protocol. It can’t and won’t be altered no matter what the time horizon.

The vision for Bitcoin

Dr. Wright begins by defining his vision for Bitcoin with four simple points. He says it will:

  • Scale to billions of transactions per second
  • Be open to anyone globally
  • Cost no more than a thousandth of a cent for a 250-byte transaction
  • Be completely traceable and work within the existing legal structure

He says that if this isn’t your vision, it’s best that you don’t use Bitcoin.

Bitcoin’s mission statement

Too often, Bitcoin is painted as anti-bank by cypherpunks who wish it was so. Dr. Wright reiterates that this was never the goal. Bitcoin is a tool, he says, and its aim is to create a secure electronic cash system that can facilitate micropayments globally. The values of said micropayments should be as low as or lower than one-thousandth of a cent. He says that the system is designed to facilitate quick and easy value exchange and should not be used for speculating and gambling.

Dr. Wright says that Bitcoin will remove all dust limits and allow for single satoshi transactions in the coming year. He describes how this will force miners to compete and drive fees lower. If a miner sets a fee that’s too low, that’s not a problem, but if they set a fee that’s too high, they’ll lose profit.

Dispelling some of the common myths about Bitcoin, Dr. Wright says that there is no such thing as spam, there’s no volume that’s too large, and that Bitcoin is always subject to being frozen and seized by legal order. He also emphasizes that all legal transactions should be sent. It’s a system designed to grow as volume grows and allow near-instant value transfer anywhere on earth while eliminating all the costs of existing payment networks such as the Visa and Mastercard networks.

Wrapping up this section, Dr. Wright explains that the protocol must be set in stone and remain unchanged. This way, a transaction made today will still work in a year, a decade, or a century from now. He says that if you write and sign a transaction and hold it off-chain, it will remain valid and will be processed by a miner even two centuries from now. The key to ensuring this is to not alter and tinker with the protocol. He reminds us once again what he has said many times before—the protocol doesn’t change.

Why should the protocol not change? Among other reasons, it means that developers can build something today and know it will work far into the future. He gives examples of land and property registers and says that long-term bonds and loans could be issued on the blockchain, but only if the protocol is set in stone.

Bitcoin goals

In this blog section, Dr. Wright explains what Bitcoin’s goals are and what they are not. Contrary to popular thinking, Bitcoin neither takes down banks nor banks the unbanked. Unlike banks, an electronic cash system such as Bitcoin doesn’t give out loans or allow people to raise capital. Dr. Wright says that Bitcoin is more important than any of this; it allows people to move value for incredibly low fees.

Naturally, such a system has a totally different customer base. He says it is for everyone, especially the poor. It will mean next to no fees for people who work abroad and send remittances home. Bitcoin can help those who don’t have access to banking services in developing countries to save in secure digital wallets. It will remove some of the problems associated with not having access to bank accounts, such as having to use extortionate check-cashing services and payday loans.

As for developers, Dr. Wright says Bitcoin will help them build long-term projects without worrying that what they’re working on will be rendered useless by a protocol change. This has happened several times already on BTC and Ethereum.

Bitcoin will also help users maintain privacy, but it will remain totally traceable. This will help reduce problems like corruption. If sizable money transfers can be linked to organized crime or corruption, then the innate ability to freeze and seize bitcoins will allow law enforcement to clamp down.

Once again, Dr. Wright says that those who seek a system without rules should not use Bitcoin at all. Bitcoin was designed to be traceable and to alert the network so that frozen coins would not be spent. While some believe that Bitcoin was designed to promote anarchy, Dr. Wright says it was designed to ensure that anarchy fails.

The purpose of the subsidy

There has been much speculation about why Satoshi created the block subsidy. Dr. Wright spells it out here. It was designed to ensure funding to build an ecosystem based on volume and allow miners to accept more transactions, some of which should be free. 

Looking to the future, Dr. Wright says that if Bitcoin doesn’t scale to first millions and then billions of transactions per second, it will fail. He says that most of the subsidy has been wasted by those running nodes so far and that in time, they’ll realize the error of their ways.

Speaking of the unilateral contract, he offered the world when he released Bitcoin, he says that this contract means that anybody mining will be paid for processing transactions as long as they follow the rules. Furthermore, he says that miners who ignore the necessity of including transactions are in breach of the contract and that there are consequences to this.

What Dr. Wright wants to see

Dr. Wright wants to see most people on earth using Bitcoin to “transact and to save evidence of the transactions they make.” He wants to see Bitcoin becoming a global commodity-based transaction system. He sees central bank digital currencies (CBDC) potential to run on top of Bitcoin.

As for scale, he sees it reaching billions of transactions per second with fees at one-thousandth of a cent or below.

Who will use Bitcoin? Dr. Wright hopes it will be the lowest income people on earth, those earning less than two dollars per day. He wants to see developers create solutions aimed at helping exactly these people.

As he has said many times before, he sees Bitcoin becoming “global plumbing,” connecting applications worldwide and eliminating the need for the ad-based model such as those used by Twitter and Meta.

Along with massive scaling, incredibly low fees, and a set protocol that never changes, Dr. Wright says that integrating Bitcoin into existing legal systems will help minimize criminal activity and corruption.

Lastly, Dr. Wright says that systems like BTC are not Bitcoin and that alternations such as SegWit prohibit it from being so. While he has no problem with alternative systems, he does take issue with passing these systems off as Bitcoin.

Watch: Dr. Craig Wright’s keynote speech “Set in Stone: What is a Commodity?” at the CoinGeek New York Conference

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]