Musk是你吗?Elon有关比特币系统与中本聪的理论未能成立

Musk是你吗?Elon有关比特币系统与中本聪的理论未能成立

除了召回50多万辆有缺陷的汽车以外,特斯拉的老板Elon Musk可能还想收回他关于比特币系统起源故事的理论。

最近在Lex Friedman的播客节目上,Musk对当前加密货币的糟糕状况发表了自己的看法,导致Fridman向他的嘉宾施压,称Musk是比特币系统的化名缔造者中本聪背后的真实人物。

Musk否认自己是中本聪,因此,Fridman向Musk征求了关于哪些人最符合中本聪这一身份的理论。在长时间的停顿后,Musk说:“您可以在比特币系统被推出之前看到理念的演变过程,您知道的,看看是谁写了这些理念……看起来似乎是Nick Szabo,他可能比任何人都要适合对这些理念的演变负责。”

在外行看来,Szabo之所以能扬名立万,主要是因为早在中本聪发表2008年白皮书的十年前,他就将许多其他人的想法拼凑在了一篇论文中,在文中描述了一种从未实现过的技术(“比特黄金”)。那些宣称Szabo应该对“理念的演变”负责的人忽略了一个事实:早在Szabo的比特黄金被发明出来之前,就有其他的人曾经尝试创造可行的数字货币,包括David Chaum的“电子现金”(ecash)——这项技术确实被实施了,但它只是在因缺乏广泛的采用而崩溃之前,仅仅被短暂地实施了一段时间。Szabo的比特黄金只比电子现金多了一点内容,它与第三方储存实物黄金的承诺相挂钩。值得注意的是,2009年,Szabo甚至都不知道比特币系统的存在,而且还在试图让人们帮助他来对比特黄金进行编码——也就是说,一个对某件事一无所知的人肯定不会成为它的缔造者。

Musk承认这一点,并否认了他是中本聪的说法,但无论如何,将Szabo奉为使比特币系统诞生的源泉这一行为,就好比说西方不是通过Robert Goddard或Wernher von Braun的开创性工作才能在登月项目中击败苏联的,而是要归功于Jules Verne,这仅仅基于后者于1865年写的一篇名为《从地球到月球》的小说。

最后,Szabo针对比特币系统的见解有时被证明是离谱的,比如有一次他公开否认了比特币系统是图灵完备的说法。这个建议是由Craig Wright博士在2015年比特币投资者大会上提出的,他理应被认为是“中本聪”这个假名背后的人。

Wright对比特币系统脚本计算能力的渊博看法最终被证明是正确的,这进一步证明了他对自己创造的技术拥有深刻的理解,并且坐实了他是中本聪这一身份的主张(越来越多的法院裁决赞同这一观点)。

Szabo在当时所指的“比特币”(现在被称为BTC代币)已经被BTC Core中心化协议开发小组剥夺了大部分功能,并且在未来几年内将进一步削弱。这种摇摇欲坠的技术的唯一功能就是充当“数字黄金”的惰性形式,这是对Szabo“比特黄金”之梦的回应,这可能在一定程度上解释了为什么Musk把BTC与比特币系统的原始设计搞混了。

作为对BTC背离比特币系统原始设计的回应,Wright修复了一些暂时被禁用的操作码,将比特币系统恢复到代号为BSV的原始设计。BSV区块链是对比特币系统原始愿景的致敬,它是一个具有成本效益的小额支付网络,以点对点的电子现金的形式运行着。与BTC不同的是,Wright对BSV区块链基础设施无限制扩容的承诺,使其成为各类企业数据的不可篡改的仓库。

在他们谈话中关于加密货币的部分临近结束时,Fridman沿着Musk的思路猜测道“也许非凡的个人还不如那些参与了引领某事思想演变的人物重要”,而且历史告诉我们,“无论如何,大多数名字都会被遗忘。”Musk也赞同这一观点,他说:“不管叫什么名字……玫瑰不管叫什么名字,闻起来还是一样的香。”没错,就算您把BTC称为“百花香”,那堆冒着热气的垃圾仍然会让人感到恶心。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Musk you? Elon’s Bitcoin and Satoshi theories fail to launch

Musk you? Elon’s Bitcoin and Satoshi theories fail to launch

In addition to recalling over half a million defective vehicles, Tesla boss Elon Musk may also want to rescind his theories on Bitcoin’s origin story. 

In a recent appearance on Lex Fridman’s podcast, Musk’s views on the currently wretched state of all things crypto led Fridman to press his guest about rumors that Musk is the real-world figure behind Satoshi Nakamoto, the pseudonymous creator of Bitcoin. 

Musk denied being Satoshi, leading Fridman to solicit Musk’s theories about which individual(s) might best fill those shoes. After a protracted pause, Musk said “you can look at the evolution of ideas before the launch of Bitcoin and see who wrote, you know, about those ideas … It seems as though, like, Nick Szabo is probably, more than anyone else, responsible for the evolution of those ideas.” 

For the uninitiated, Szabo’s primary claim to fame is having cobbled together a number of other individuals’ ideas in a paper describing a never-implemented technology (‘bit gold’) a decade before Satoshi released his 2008 white paper. Declaring Szabo to be ‘responsible for the evolution of ideas’ ignores the fact that there were other attempts at creating workable digital cash that predate Szabo’s bit gold, including David Chaum’s eCash—a technology that was actually implemented, albeit only briefly before its collapse due to lack of adoption. Szabo’s bit gold was little more than eCash linked to a promise of physical gold stored somewhere by a third party. It’s important to note that in 2009, Szabo didn’t even know of the existence of Bitcoin and was still trying to get people to help him code bit gold—as such, a person who has no idea about something isn’t going to be its creator.

Musk acknowledged that Szabo has denied being Satoshi but regardless, anointing Szabo as the fount whence Bitcoin sprang is like saying the West beat the Soviets to the moon not via the pioneering work of Robert Goddard or Wernher von Braun but because of Jules Verne, based on the latter having written the 1865 novel From the Earth to the Moon

Finally, there’s the fact that Szabo’s Bitcoin insights have occasionally proven wildly off the mark, such as the time he publicly rejected the suggestion that Bitcoin is Turing complete. That suggestion was made at a 2015 Bitcoin Investor Conference by none other than Dr. Craig Wright, the individual who rightly deserves recognition as the person behind the Satoshi pseudonym. 

Wright’s expansive view of Bitcoin Script’s computational capabilities was ultimately proven correct, offering further evidence of his deep understanding of the technology he created and buttressing his sole claim to the Satoshi mantle (a view with which a growing number of court rulings concur). 

The ‘Bitcoin’ Szabo was referring to at the time—now known as the BTC token—had by that point been stripped of much of its capabilities by the BTC Core centralized protocol developer cabal and would be further crippled in the years to come. This hobbled technology’s sole remaining function is to act as an inert form of ‘digital gold,’ an echo of Szabo’s ‘bit gold’ dream that may partly explain why Musk went off the rails in confusing BTC with Bitcoin’s original design. 

In response to BTC forking away from Bitcoin’s original design, Wright fixed some of the opcodes that had been temporarily disabled, restoring Bitcoin to its original design which uses the ticker symbol BSV. The BSV blockchain honors the original vision of Bitcoin as a cost-effective micropayments network operating as electronic peer-to-peer cash. And unlike BTC, Wright’s commitment to unbounded scaling of the BSV blockchain’s infrastructure allows it to serve as an immutable storehouse for all manner of enterprise data. 

As the crypto portion of their talk concluded, Fridman followed Musk’s lead by speculating that “perhaps singular figures aren’t as important as the figures involved in the evolution of ideas that led to the thing” and that history teaches us that “most names will be forgotten anyway.” Musk echoed this view, saying “What is a name, anyway … A rose by any other name would smell as sweet.” Yes, and the steaming pile of crap that is BTC would still nauseate one’s nostrils even if you label it potpourri. 

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]