在Kleiman诉Wright案第1周结束之际,Ira Kleiman终于离开了法庭

在Kleiman诉Wright案第1周结束之际,Ira Kleiman终于离开了法庭

Ira Kleiman指控Craig Wright博士盗取了其兄弟在中本聪财产中的份额,在Andrés Rivero连续第三天向其施压之后,Ira Kleiman很感激他今天可以离开法庭了,这场世纪审判的第一周随之结束。

Rivero继续就Wright博士与Dave Kleiman在比特币上的合作缺乏证据向Kleiman施压。特别值得注意的是,在2011年比特币白皮书发布后不久,Wright博士给Dave的一封电子邮件就启动了一项就国土安全部编制RFP的合作。Wright博士提出了一个新颖的想法,即双方应该通过合作伙伴关系开始这项事业。这是Wright博士和他已故最好的朋友在2011年的所有交流中第一次提到这个词。

在这一问题上,反叙事也成为了关注焦点。原告律师Andrew Scott Brenner在这场小冲突后折返,向Kleiman提出了一些最后的后续问题。其效果是将Wright博士和Dave Kleiman之间的关系描绘成高度保密的关系,因此他们无论如何都不太可能讨论这种合作关系。这与Ira Kleiman关于感恩节晚餐的故事是否相符尚不清楚。

双方还就Kleiman诉Wright案中提交证据的某些电子邮件的真实性提出了第一个重要问题。Ira作证后,原告出示了两段录像证词,占用了整个下午的时间。

出示的第一个视频是Jonathan Warren,就在Ira Kleiman的盘问结束后。Warren是Bitmessage的创建者,这是一款去中心化的、加密的点对点消息应用程序。

他被原告免职,就Wright博士提交的某些Bitmessage信息的真实性发表意见,这些信息已被Wright博士作为一系列证据,其中许多与Wright博士著名信托的设立有关。Warren说,这些信息肯定是不真实的,因为它们的日期是2012年Bitmessage发布前几个月。

在被告的讯问中,Warren承认Bitmessage的早期版本可能在正式发布之前已经泄露给了暗网。他也无法确定自己(以及他正在开发的Bitmessage软件)是否遭到黑客攻击,因此可能在正式发布之前就已经被发布了

第二个视频是Deborah Kobza。Kobza在一家非营利的网络安全认证机构GICSR工作,Wright博士曾短暂加入过该机构。Kobza被问及一些合同,据称是Wright博士和GICSR公司之间的合同,其中包括Kobza作为GICSR代表的合同。在视频中,Kobza说她一生中从未见过这些文件,也不知道它们所描述的交易。

这两段视频被展示出来的目的似乎都是让Wright博士名誉扫地,但这都没有涉及所谓的比特币合作关系是否曾经存在的问题。

当天另一角度的记录也许会继续出现在苏格兰记者Andrew O’hagan的报道中,2016年,他曾为《伦敦书评》报道了Wright博士“现身”的传奇故事。在案件早期,O’Hagan被Ira的一家律师事务所(Boies Schiller Flexner LLP)传唤作证。O’Hagan同意了,但他的费用(包括与保护消息来源有关的费用)必须由其承担。他们提前支付了其中的一部分费用——34,988英镑,但“在证词结束后,原告拒绝支付O’Hagan的其余费用。原告已经得到了他们想要的——法庭正在审理的诉讼中使用的证词和证据——但是尽管他们达成了协议……他们对金额提出了异议,没有进行付款。”

尽管O’Hagan成功地得到英国法院的命令,要求其支付剩余的92707英镑,原告仍拒绝进行支付。现在他已经在佛罗里达州法院提出了一项新的动议,这个数字可能会越来越高。

Wright博士现在应该在周一到达,不过有可能在这之前传唤Ramona Watts或Lynn Wright。我们尚未见到的一位专家是Ami Klin博士,他正在为Wright博士的自闭症诊断作证。毫无疑问,这是Wright博士行为的重要背景,在被告为自己的案件传唤Wright博士之前,我们可能会听到他的消息,这大概也会在下周公布。

CoinGeek将以Kurt Wuckert Jr.为专题进行每日回顾报道,该报道将于美国东部时间下午6:30在我们的YouTube频道上进行直播。

在此观看我们关于Kleiman诉Wright一案的第五天的特别报道:

Kleiman诉Wright的YouTube播放列表获取所有相关内容的CoinGeek特别报道。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Ira Kleiman finally let off the stand as Week 1 of Kleiman v Wright closes

Ira Kleiman finally let off the stand as Week 1 of Kleiman v Wright closes

Ira Kleiman will be grateful to leave the stand today after Andrés Rivero pressed the man who accuses Dr. Craig Wright of stealing his brother’s share of the Satoshi Nakamoto fortune for a third straight day, closing the first week of the trial of the century.

Rivero continued to press Kleiman on the absence of evidence regarding a collaboration between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman on Bitcoin. Of particular note was an email from Dr. Wright to Dave which kicked off a collaboration in putting together RFPs for the Department of Homeland Security in 2011—well after the release of the Bitcoin white paper. Dr. Wright suggests a novel idea—that the two should embark on this venture via a partnership. This is the first time in any communication between Dr. Wright and his deceased best friend that the word comes up—in 2011.

The counter-narrative also came into focus at this point. Andrew Scott Brenner, an attorney for the plaintiffs, returned after this skirmish for some final follow-up questions to Kleiman. The effect was to portray the relationship between Dr. Wright and Dave Kleiman as highly secretive and therefore it is unlikely that such a partnership would have been discussed anyway. How this fits in with Ira Kleiman’s story about Thanksgiving dinner isn’t clear.

The parties also butted up against the first significant question over the authenticity of certain emails submitted into evidence in Kleiman v Wright. After Ira’s testimony, the plaintiffs showed two video depositions which took up the rest of the afternoon.

The first was of Jonathan Warren, immediately after the conclusion of Ira Kleiman’s cross examination. Warren is the creator of Bitmessage, a decentralized, encrypted, peer-to-peer messaging app.

He was deposed by the plaintiffs to opine on the authenticity of certain Bitmessage messages that have been submitted into evidence by Dr. Wright about a variety of things, many of which concern the setup of Dr. Wright’s famous trusts. Warren says the messages have to be inauthentic, because they are dated some months before the release of Bitmessage in 2012.

While being questioned by the defendants, Warren admitted that earlier versions of Bitmessage may have been leaked to the dark web prior to its official release. He also could not say definitively whether or not he (and the Bitmessage software he was working on) had been hacked, such that it might have been made available prior to the official release.

The second was Deborah Kobza. Kobza worked at a cybersecurity certification non-profit, GICSR, that Dr. Wright was affiliated with for a short time. Kobza was asked about a number of contracts, allegedly between companies of Dr. Wright and GICSR and which include Kobza as representative of GICSR. On the video, Kobza said she had never seen the documents in her life, and doesn’t recognize the transactions they describe.

Both videos were seemingly shown to discredit Dr. Wright generally, but neither go to the question of whether the alleged Bitcoin partnership ever existed.

One side story from the day which may continue to appear throughout trial comes from Andrew O’Hagan, a Scottish journalist who covered Dr. Wright’s ‘coming out’ saga in 2016 for the London Review of Books. O’Hagan was called for a deposition by one of Ira’s attorney firms (Boies Schiller Flexner LLP) early in the case over his coverage. O’Hagan agreed, with the stipulation that his costs (including the costs associated with protecting sources) be covered. They paid him a portion of these costs in advance—£34,988—but “after the deposition concluded, Plaintiffs simply refused to pay the balance of O’Hagan’s fees and costs. Plaintiffs had what they came for – testimony and evidence for use in the action now being tried before this Court – but despite their agreement… they contested the amount and did not pay.”

Despite O’Hagan successfully getting an order from the U.K. court demanding payment of the remaining £92,707, the plaintiffs continue to refuse to pay. Having now filed a new motion in the Florida court, that number likely just got higher.

Dr. Wright is now due on Monday, though there is the possibility that either Ramona Watts or Lynn Wright is called before that happens. One expert we are yet to see is Dr. Ami Klin, the doctor who is testifying as to Dr. Wright’s autism diagnosis. No doubt important context for Dr. Wright’s demeanor, it seems likely we will hear from him before the defendants call Dr. Wright for their own case, presumably also taking place next week.

CoinGeek will feature Kurt Wuckert Jr. in daily recap coverage which will be livestreamed on a daily basis at 6:30 p.m. EST on our YouTube Channel.

Watch our Day 5 Special Report from the Kleiman v Wright trial here:

Check out all of the CoinGeek special reports on the Kleiman v Wright YouTube playlist.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]