世纪骗局?

这篇帖子最初发表在Unbounded Capital网站上,在得到Jack Laskey的许可后我们将其重新发表了。

比特币领域,欺诈指控的泛滥程度令人失望。这种混乱的代价只有少数人能深切感受到,但这将通过延缓一项变革性技术的进步,进而产生更大的影响。尽管不幸的是,欺诈行为的存在是毫无疑问的。当然,各种各样的骗局一直是早期比特币/区块链行业的常态,这是一个非常吸引“想要快速赚钱”的人群的行业。但是,这些都不是世纪骗局。

世纪骗局的候选人只有一个,但这个人不是Craig Wright博士。对于那些刚刚接触这场争议的人来说,Craig Wright博士是澳大利亚的计算机安全专家和博学家,他在2015年被Wired和Gizmodo杂志曝光出是比特币的创造者中本聪。经过一段时间的否认,Wright博士承认自己是中本聪。然而,出于各种不同的原因,更广大的比特币社区断然反驳了他的说法。Wright博士被广泛地认为是一个骗子,并且他目前关注的比特币SV——回归了最初的设计,远离了主流BTC版本的比特币系统的另一个版本,该版本常常被贴上骗局的标签。

我在其他文章中已经明确指出,我相信大多数人都搞错了,而且Craig Wright博士几乎可以肯定就是中本聪。我所看到的证据使反对的证据相形见绌。此外,我看不出Wright博士实施这种骗局的动机,但是,如果Wright博士是中本聪的话,我确实看出了他采取行动的某种动机。这种情况是有历史先例的。当Wright兄弟(与Wright博士无关)发明飞机时,人们普遍不相信他们。他们利用这个机会继续私下建造和测试,同时为关键技术申请专利。Wright博士利用这一怀疑之窗为1000多项比特币相关技术申请了专利。他的公司nChain力求拥有比现有任何公司更多的专利。

无论如何,与他的反指控相比,Wright博士被指控涉及的骗局是微不足道的。假装成中本聪确实是一件怪事,尤其是在这么长的时间里,还要面对他人这样的嘲笑。尽管这种欺诈给Wright博士和他所谓的同谋者带来的好处尚不清楚,但肯定会有不少受害者作出个人财务安排,因为他们相信Wright博士的声明是正确的,包括我自己在内。

世纪骗局的候选人不是Wright博士,而是那些指控他欺诈的人——这还不仅仅是因为他们这样做可能是错的。在比特币和相关技术的新领域中,很难将这个陌生的领域里正在发生的事情,描绘成更容易理解的领域。为了让事情更清楚一些,用比特币的术语来解释Wright博士的指控,然后假设传统股票领域也存在类似情况,将会有所帮助。

Wright博士的欺诈指控通常是针对控制BTC代码库的开发人员以及将BTC列为比特币的交易所。他们被指控侵犯了Wright博士的数据库权利,窃取了他的数据库,并将该数据库重新用于一个竞争性的系统。然后,这些人与交易所勾结,将这个新系统冒充为原始系统——比特币。现在,投资者的所有权被记录在这个数据库当中,人们误认为自己在比特币系统中的所有权就是在这个按照不同规则运行的新系统中的所有权。这种转变经过一段时间内的各种变化,以“软分叉”的方式完成,这种暗中改变规则的方式被假冒成一种民主式的转变。

数据库的权利?软分叉?这一切都有点神秘。但是,当这被定格在传统股票领域里(译者注:盗用企业的股票代码),这种骗局的厚颜无耻之处就显而易见了。

如果Wright博士所称的比特币系统中发生的事情属实,那么就类似于下面的假设情况:

假设有一家叫BitCorp的公司,于2009年上市。所有股份都已发行,公司随着时间的推移而开始逐步抛售股票。这些股票由投资者购买,可以立即交易。最终,创始人和CEO离开了公司,其他一些员工巩固了权力,开始做出违反公司规章制度的改变。最终,这些(曾经的)规章制度给那些权力得到巩固的员工产生了很大的制约,于是他们决定需要成立一家拥有新规章制度的新公司。然而,他们担心,失去现有股东支持的话,一旦发生的事情被公之于众,他们就不能成立公司,也就不可能拥有一家成功的企业。此时,员工决定,他们可以简单地与证券交易所协调,以新的规章制度将现有股东引入新公司,并告诉他们这就是原来的公司。毕竟,它将保留原来的名字——BitCorp。

此时,公司里的其他员工闻风而动,决定事先放弃一些违反公司章程的改变,不再与这些不良员工共事。然而,这些其他员工很快发现自己被贴上了自命不凡的标签,他们认为公司正在被不良员工用新章程作为原来的章程运营。新的规章制度最终阻碍了这家不良公司的发展,但炒作机构却推动了股价的上涨。原来的公司恢复了平稳的运营和发展,但由于没有像BitCorp那样的成功记录,它被普遍认为处于一个不太可能超越现有巨头的冒险的市场新手,以及存在着一个自称是原来公司的骗局的情况中。在与交易所勾结时,该公司的市值约为100亿美元。如今,市值造假的公司价值3000亿美元,而原公司价值约50亿美元。

为什么这是一个很好的类比呢?数据库权利与公司的所有权分配有什么关系?比特币是开源的。任何人都可以创建自己的比特币实例。这并不意味着现有的比特币实例可以连同该比特币区块链实例中的所有信息一起被复制。即使这是合法的,这份复制品也将是凭空而来的、新发行的资产,它的所有者必须要纳税。当一个数据库按照不同于指定的原始数据库协议的规则运行时,复制一个数据库的副本并声称这是原始数据库,这种做法当然是不合法的。由于数据库主要用作所有权分配的记录,因此复制该所有权分配并将其应用于新资产,然后将新资产冒充旧资产是一种犯罪行为。

很难知道法院最终会如何审视这段历史。Wright博士的参与使事情变得复杂。Wright博士与交易所和BTC开发者的对决,暗示了“人民”与交易所和BTC开发者的对决中所没有的含义。无论如何,“人民”并没有追查这个案子,Wright博士似乎也没有。价值3000亿美元的BTC,以公司形式来看将会是沃尔玛和雀巢订单的体量,它们会不会作为世纪骗局轰然倒塌?我愿意打这个赌。你愿意吗?

订阅CoinGeek的Crypto Crime Cartel系列,该系列深入研究了从BitMEXBinanceBitcoin.comBlockstreamShapeShift和Ethereum等一系列公司——他们参与了数字资产革命,并将该行业变成了市场上毫无经验(甚至是有经验)玩家的雷区。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Fraud of the century?

This post originally appeared on the Unbounded Capital website and we republished with permission from Jack Laskey.

The degree to which accusations of fraud are flung around the Bitcoin world is disappointing. The price of this confusion will be felt acutely by few, but will impact far more through its delay of a transformative technology’s progress. Unfortunate as it may be, there is no doubt that fraud exists. Of course, scams of various sorts have been a constant feature of the early Bitcoin/blockchain industry, an industry that is very attractive to the “fast money” crowd. But, none of these are the fraud of the century.

There is only one candidate for fraud of the century, and it isn’t Dr. Craig Wright. For those new to this controversy, Dr. Craig Wright is an Australian computer security expert and polymath who was outed at Satoshi Nakamoto, the creator of Bitcoin, in 2015 by Wired and Gizmodo magazines. After a period of denial, Dr. Wright admitted that he is Satoshi Nakamoto. However, for a number of reasons of varying feasibility, the broader Bitcoin community rejected his claim emphatically. He is widely believed to be a fraud, and his current focus, Bitcoin SV, an alternative version of Bitcoin which has pivoted back to the original design and away from dominant version BTC, is often labeled a scam.

I’ve made it clear in other writings that I believe the majority is mistaken and that Dr. Craig Wright is almost certainly Satoshi Nakamoto. I see the evidence for dwarfing the evidence against. Further, I don’t see the incentive to perpetrate such a fraud, but I do see the incentive to have taken Dr. Wright’s actions to this point if Dr. Wright is Satoshi Nakamoto. There is historical precedent to this scenario. When the Wright brothers (not related) invented the airplane, they were widely disbelieved. They used this window to continue building and testing in private while patenting key technologies. Dr. Wright has used this window of disbelief to patent well over 1,000 Bitcoin related technologies. His firm nChain seeks to hold more patents than any company in existence.

Regardless, the magnitude of Dr. Wright’s alleged fraud is pedestrian compared to his counter-accusation. Pretending to be Satoshi Nakamoto is certainly an oddity, especially for such a long time and in the face of such derision. And, while the upside of such a fraud for Dr. Wright and his alleged conspirators is unclear, there certainly would be a number of victims who made personal and financial arrangements based on the belief that Dr. Wright would be vindicated in his claim, myself included.

The candidate for fraud of the century is not Dr. Wright but those accusing him of fraud—and not simply because they are likely mistaken. In the new world of Bitcoin and associated technologies, it can be hard to map what is transpiring in this unfamiliar space to better understood areas. To make things clearer, an explanation in Bitcoin terms of Dr. Wright’s accusation followed by a hypothetical parallel in the traditional equities space will be helpful.

Dr. Wright’s accusation of fraud is generally directed at the developers who control the BTC codebase and the exchanges who list BTC as Bitcoin. They are accused of violating Dr. Wright’s database rights, having stolen his database and repurposed that database for a competing system. They then colluded with exchanges to pass off this new system as the original system, Bitcoin. Investors, whose ownership was recorded in this database, are now confusing their ownership in Bitcoin for ownership in this new system which operates under different rules. The switch was conducted over time with various changes and was consummated with a “soft fork”, an underhanded change in the rules passed off as a democratic switch.

Database rights? Soft forks? It’s all a bit arcane. But, when framed in the world of traditional equities, the brazenness of such a fraud becomes apparent.

What Dr. Wright alleges has transpired in Bitcoin, if true, is similar to the following hypothetical scenario:

Imagine a company BitCorp. BitCorp goes public in 2009. All of the shares have been issued and the company starts selling shares gradually over time. These shares are bought by investors and are immediately tradable. Eventually, the founder and CEO leaves the company and a group of other employees consolidate power and begin making changes which violate the company’s bylaws. Eventually, the bylaws become so constraining to the employees which have consolidated power that they decide they need to start a new company with new bylaws. However, they fear that without bringing the existing shareholders with them, something they wouldn’t be likely to do if what was occurring was made explicit, they won’t have a business that can succeed. At this point, the employees decide that they can simply coordinate with stock exchanges to direct the existing shareholders to the new company with new bylaws and tell them that this is the original company. After all, it will maintain its name, BitCorp.

At this point, other employees at the company catch wind of what is going on and decide to pre-emptively revert away from some of the changes that had been made in violation of the bylaws and to stop working with the rogue employees. However, they soon find themselves labelled as the upstart with shareholders seeing the company being operated by the rogue employees with new bylaws as the original. The new bylaws end up crippling the progress of the rogue company, but the hype machine drives up the share value. The original company returns to smooth operation and progresses, but absent its track record of success as BitCorp, they are widely seen as a risky upstart unlikely to succeed next to the existing behemoth, and are also considered to be a fraud for claiming to be the original. At the time of the exchange collusion, the company was worth about $10B. Now, the company with the fraudulent cap table is worth $300B and the original company is worth around $5B. 

So why is this a good analogy? What do database rights have to do with the ownership distribution of a company? Bitcoin was open-sourced. Anyone can start their own instance of Bitcoin. This doesn’t mean that an existing instance of Bitcoin can be copied along with all of the information in that instance of Bitcoin’s blockchain. Even if that were legal, the copy would be an air-drop, newly issued assets which the owners would have to pay taxes on. What is certainly not legal is to make a copy of a database and then claim to be the original database when one is operating under different rules than the original database agreement specified. Since the database was largely used as a record of ownership distribution, copying that ownership distribution and applying it to a new asset and passing off the new asset as the old asset is a criminal offense.

It is hard to know how courts will ultimately view this history. Dr. Wright’s involvement complicates things. Dr. Wright vs the exchanges and the BTC developers implies things that “the people” vs the exchanges and the BTC developers does not. Regardless, “the people” aren’t pursuing the case, and Dr. Wright certainly seems to be. Will the $300B BTC, which in company form would be on the order of Walmart and Nestle, come crashing down as the fraud of the century? It’s a bet I’m willing to make. Should you be?

Follow CoinGeek’s Crypto Crime Cartel series, which delves into the stream of groups—from BitMEX to BinanceBitcoin.comBlockstreamShapeShift and Ethereum—who have co-opted the digital asset revolution and turned the industry into a minefield for naïve (and even experienced) players in the market.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.