《福布斯》杂志的投稿人再次借助媒体品牌攻击Craig Wright

《福布斯》杂志的投稿人再次借助媒体品牌攻击Craig Wright

BTC支持者利用主流媒体,开始还击Craig Wright博士。他们借助如《福布斯》等知名品牌平台,不断地攻击这位比特币的创造者,并且试图抹黑他对比特币应有的样子的愿景。

最新的一篇文章是Hailey Lennon律师写的,他曾经是Coinbase和bitFlyer等交易所的监管顾问。这篇文章的撰写也得到了Preston Byrne的协助,他也是一名律师,长期担任区块链法律问题的评论员。

需要说明的是,Lennon的推特用户名是HaileyLennonBTC。而Byrne的个人简历里写着,“在受到中本聪为原告威胁的诽谤诉讼中为推特用户提供无偿代理”的经历。您大概能猜到他们的文章针对的是谁。

《福布斯》杂志的这篇文章名为《成为中本聪之战》,文章首先就综述了Wright博士迄今为止的“法律上的过失”。但把它们称其为“不幸的遭遇”和“法律上的不幸事件”都具有误导性,因为这些事件都没有产生对Wright的不利判决。

正如我们之前提到的,《福布斯》没有专门的记者来报道比特币和区块链相关的新闻。恰恰相反,它们的“Crypto & Blockchain”栏目都交给有话想说的客座撰稿人(大多数是无偿的)。Wright博士已经怒斥过此类杂志安排并许可的 “虚假新闻”。

Lennon与Byrne共同撰写的文章再次指出,Wright博士2019年注册了比特币白皮书的版权,但成功注册版权也不能证明他就是比特币白皮书的原作者。Wright博士需要在法庭上证明这一点来为自己的主张进行辩护。

这很可能就是Wright博士计划要做的事情。他和其他人一样清楚,直到法庭根据提供的证据对声明表示认可之前,声明就仅仅只是声明而已。就像许多BTC从业者所声称的“IP troll”案那样,这不是为了逼迫小型主体遵守判决或赔偿支付而实行的一种策略。Wright博士很清楚,自己确实有证据来证明自己是中本聪化名背后的那个人,并且他的证据足以在法庭上站得住脚。

Lennon确实承认一点:“Wright有可能拥有这些权利,尽管我们认为这种可能微乎其微(司法检察员将更适合来确定权利的归属问题)。我们不知情,比特币白皮书被写出来的时候我们也不在现场,要是我们能在现场,如今我们很有可能不必出庭打官司,而是在大溪地喝着莫吉托鸡尾酒。”

然而,Lennon继续将Wright博士的行为(错误地)描述为“由Wright多年来策划的众多机会主义诉讼中最新的一起案例,其目的在于逼迫全世界承认他对中本聪身份和财产的主张……”

如果Wright确实是中本聪,也许“强硬”一词在现阶段十分必要。多年来,Wright博士确实曾数次以不那么强硬的方式来表达自己的主张,但却遭到了来自BTC领域内接二连三的嘲笑和人格诋毁。

Lennon说,Wright博士只需“通过用中本聪私钥签署一条消息”就可轻易证明自己的中本聪身份,但他还没有这样做(这种做法是一种技术性验证,而非法律意义的认可)。

Wright还没有公开使用中本聪的密钥签名——但至今其他人也没这样用过它。如果除了Wright博士之外还存在“真的”中本聪,他/她似乎也没有心情通过签名来反驳Wright的说法。自2015年后,还没有出现任何可信的中本聪替代者,这一直是BTC支持者的无解之症,所以他们通常不会提及它。可能“中本聪”实际上已经不能再使用中本聪的密钥了。若这是真的,那么Wright没有密钥也是有可能的。专家们只能对这种情况进行推测。

几个其他的低级错误:

据Lennon说,Wright创造了“比特币分叉中的一个分叉,叫做“Bitcoin Satoshi Vision”,这一版本宣称可以通过将最大区块大小增加至2GB,从而解决比特币的扩容问题——从软件工程的角度来看,这就相当于让20吨重的卡车在一座5吨重的桥梁上行驶,从而得增加桥梁的最大承重量。”

我们在2021年还要继续进行“比特币扩容的辩论”吗?让我们暂时先把刚刚那种荒谬的类比放在一边,BSV已经一次又一次地证明了,大交易区块是可能实现的,BSV甚至可以很容易对此进行处理。事实上,BSV一直没有出现过技术故障,它的继续存在对于在这场长年辩论中站在“小区块支持者”一方的人来说,无疑是非常尴尬的。所以他们继续尝试以各种方式抹黑BSV的名声就不足为奇了。

这篇文章还暗指,Wright博士正在发动“法律战”,借助司法强制使自己的中本聪身份合法化,并且“强迫(人们)使用他喜欢的比特币版本,BSV。”

文章中使用强硬的措辞,包括重复使用“强硬”一词,这些都在表明Wright的策略是不合法的。但如果事实再一次证明Wright所说属实,那么多年来公开嘲讽他这件事本身就是一个不公正的行为。没有人会怪他运用更强硬的手段去证明自己的身份。如果您手握事实,但却发现自己被一大群人大声诋毁,您也可能会“逼迫”他们看清事实。

众说纷纭……每个人都有自己的想法

很明显,即使是区块链行业的经验丰富的律师,对于一个具体案件的是非曲直都会有不同的看法。然而,这并不意味着他们是正确的或者他们的论点会在法庭上占上风。毕竟,人们设立法庭是有原因的——这样双方都能陈述自己的观点,供法官/陪审团参考并作出决定。

许多人认为《福布斯》和其他主流媒体通过把自己的品牌名借给“博客”栏目,稀释了自己的品牌效应——他们确实这样做了——但公众需要意识到,笔手通常利用这些平台及其名字为自己的观点提供权威性。《福布斯》覆盖面广、读者群广,这也不无好处。

某些人借助知名媒体品牌来提升自己言论的合法性,其他人则借助法院和律师。这两者都是一种策略,尽管后者影响力更大一些。

Lennon写道,“在法庭上,这些谈话是廉价的。”但事实并非如此,因为在法庭宣誓后做出虚假陈述会带来严重的后果。倒是在《福布斯》博客栏目上写些东西要“廉价”得多,因为在博客上的内容不需要被评判。这仅仅是社交媒体上更多的试探罢了。

敬请观看Craig Wright向Ryan X. Charles讲诉Bitcoin.org的历史背景,以及他们使用Way Back Machine来证明中本聪PGP密钥在2011年就已经发生变化了:

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]

Forbes ‘contributors’ are at it again: Borrowing media brands to attack Craig Wright

BTC supporters with access to mainstream media outlets have begun to return fire in the battle against Dr. Craig Wright. Using well-known branded platforms such as Forbes, they continue to attack the character of Bitcoin’s creator and attempt to discredit his vision for what Bitcoin should be.

The latest is a piece by lawyer Hailey Lennon, who previously worked as Regulatory Counsel for exchanges Coinbase and bitFlyer, among others. It was assisted by Preston Byrne, also a lawyer and long-time commentator on blockchain legal issues.

Lennon’s Twitter handle, for the record, is “HaileyLennonBTC.” Byrne’s bio includes the experience “Representation of Twitter user pro bono in defamation action threatened by Satoshi Nakamoto claimant.” You can probably guess the direction the article takes.

The Forbes piece is titled “The Battle to be Satoshi,” and it begins with a summary of Dr. Wright’s “legal misadventures” to date. Calling them “misadventures” and “legal misfortunes” is misleading, since none of them have produced a judgment against Wright.

As we have noted before, Forbes does not have staff journalists covering the Bitcoin and blockchain beat. Rather their “Crypto & Blockchain” section relies on (mostly unpaid) guest contributors who have something to say. Dr. Wright has himself railed against the “fake news” this arrangement permits.

Lennon/Byrne’s article makes the point again that Dr. Wright registered the copyright for the Bitcoin white paper in 2019, and that his being granted the registration doesn’t prove he was the paper’s original author. He would need to prove that in court in order to defend the claim.

This is most likely what Dr. Wright is planning to do. He knows as well as everyone else that a claim is only a claim until a court, based on evidence presented, backs it up. This is not a strategy to bully small targets into complying or paying up, like the “IP troll” cases many in BTC are claiming this is. Dr. Wright clearly feels he does have evidence to back up his claim to be behind the Satoshi Nakamoto pseudonym, and that this evidence is solid enough to stand up in such a forum.

Lennon does admit one point: “There is a chance Wright does own these rights, though we think that chance is a small one (a judicial fact-finder will be in a better position to determine this). We don’t know, we weren’t there when the Bitcoin White Paper was written, and if we had been, there’s a good possibility we’d be sipping mojitos in Tahiti right now instead of practicing law.”

However she then continues to describe Dr. Wright’s actions as “the latest in a series of opportunistic lawsuits commenced by Wright over the years designed to force the world to acknowledge his claim to the identity and legacy of Satoshi Nakamoto…”

Perhaps “force” is what’s necessary at this stage, if Wright actually is Satoshi. He has definitely made several attempts to present his claim in less forceful ways over the years, only to meet with a barrage of derision and character assassinations from the BTC world.

Lennon says Dr. Wright could easily prove his identity of Satoshi Nakamoto “by signing a message with one of Satoshi’s private keys” but has not done so  (this is a technical rather than a legal opinion).

Wright has not signed with Satoshi’s keys in public—but then, neither has anyone else. If a “real” Satoshi other than Dr. Wright exists, he/she appears in no mood to disprove Wright’s claims by signing a message either. The absence of any credible alternative-Satoshi since 2015 is a sticking point for BTC supporters, so usually they don’t mention it. Possibly “Satoshi” doesn’t actually have access to Satoshi’s keys anymore. If that’s possible, then it’s also possible Dr. Wright doesn’t either. Pundits can only speculate on the topic.

There are a few other howlers:

According to Lennon, Wright created “a fork of a fork of Bitcoin called “Bitcoin Satoshi Vision” which claims to solve Bitcoin’s scalability issues by increasing the maximum block size to two gigabytes—the software engineering equivalent of saying that you can increase the maximum weight limit of a 5-ton bridge by driving 20-ton trucks over it.”

Are we still having the “Bitcoin scaling debate” in 2021? Putting aside that ridiculous analogy for a moment, BSV has proven time and time again that large transaction blocks are possible, even easy, to process. In fact, BSV has remained so free of technical hitches that its continued existence must be an embarrassment to everyone who took the “small blocker” side in that years-long debate. Which makes it hardly surprising they continue to try and discredit it in other ways.

The article also suggests Dr. Wright is using “lawfare,” use “judicially enforced legitimacy” of his Satoshi claims, and “force (people) to use his preferred vision, BSV.”

The strong language, including repeated use of the word “force” suggests Wright’s tactics are illegitimate. But once again, if Wright’s claims are true then having them publicly mocked for years would be an injustice in itself. No one would begrudge him using ever-stronger methods to prove them. If you held the truth but found yourself discredited by a loud majority, you’d probably be in the mood to drag them kicking and screaming to see it too.

Opinions… everyone’s got one

That lawyers, even those seasoned in the blockchain industry, can have differing opinions on the merits of a particular case is obvious. However it doesn’t mean they’re right, or that their argument will prevail in court. After all, that’s why we have courts—so both sides can present their arguments for a judge/jury to decide.

Many feel Forbes and other mainstream outlets have diluted their brands by lending their name to “blogger” sections—and they have—but the public needs to be aware that writers usually use these platforms and their famous names to lend authority to their own views. Forbes’ large reach and readership doesn’t hurt either.

Some borrow big-name media brands to promote their legitimacy, others use courts and lawyers. Both are tactics, though the latter has more impact.

“In a courtroom, talk is cheap,” writes Lennon. It isn’t really, since making false statements under oath has serious consequences. It’s far cheaper in the Forbes blogger section, though, where no judgment is necessary. It’s just more trial by social media. 

Watch Dr. Craig Wright tell Ryan X. Charles the background of Bitcoin.org and as they use the Way Back Machine to prove the Satoshi PGP key changed in 2011:

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.