克雷格·怀特(Craig Wright)没有移动任何BTC,而且这并不重要

本周传出40到50个BTC已经从一个“可能是中本聪所有的钱包”转移到一个未知地址,因此引起了大轰动。进一步的分析让人对此观点产生更多疑问,克雷格·怀特博士(Dr. Craig Wright)本人否认他与这笔交易有任何关系。市场对此举的不安只能证明,BTC除了作为投机资产外,几乎没有什么用处,而且这几乎是迷信力量的引导。

这场轰动始于推特账户Whale Alert的一个推文,BTC价格随即在之后的一小时内下跌了7%。为什么?
因为如果中本聪处于活跃状态并正在移动货币,这个人可能会移动中本聪所有的货币的其余部分,这将在一定程度上影响市场。

价格下跌反映出,数字资产贸易界的许多人仍然担心“中本聪”的出现,不管他们是否相信怀特博士是不是中本聪。如果怀特博士是中本聪,他可能会故意拖垮BTC市场,一个他不再支持的“核心硬币”。如果他不是,那么“聪”仍然是一个未知数量,且无人知晓其动机。

这两个阵营都引发了揣测,BSV的粉丝们因为怀特博士可能对BTC采取果断行动感到兴奋,以及出于同样的原因,其他阵营都感到恐慌。虽然有些人公开表态支持或反对怀特博士是中本聪的说法,但部分沉默(可能多数)的比特币份子,他们对此都没有意见,或者甚至私下里怀疑怀特博士实际上是中本聪,但却没有表达出来。

无论如何,随着比特币SV(BSV)和BTC的分支,这个争论变得越来越不重要。两者都称自己为“比特币”,但BSV是一个微型支付网络,专注于作为一个供企业使用,用来存储和处理数据的商品账本。它在交易数量和可扩容性方面已经超过了BTC。BTC的支持者则称其是“数字黄金”,但它缺乏黄金的属性,也未能证明自己具有任何黄金可以对冲货币通胀的历史能力。

不是中本聪货币,不是克雷格·怀特的货币

分析家和媒体文章较后得出结论,移动的货币不符合能够证明它们是“聪币”的基本证据模式(虽然这种分析有待辩论和具有分歧)。

他们和怀特博士指出,即使BTC从2009年初开始移动,它也可能来自任何在当时“挖采”比特币的各方。中本聪发布的最初比特币beta测试软件在计算机科学和加密界引起了很多人的关注。许多人只在短时间内贡献了计算能力;他们中的一些人立刻看到了比特币的潜力,另一些人可能已经失去了兴趣。

怀特博士还说道,他选择“不要猜测货币的来源或交易所涉及的各方”。

虽然早期比特币地址的身份尚不清楚,但其出现也援引了正在进行的怀特和克莱曼(Kleiman)之间的法律诉讼案。一些人注意到该发送地址是该诉讼案件初步阶段中提出的,可能是持有怀特博士货币的地址。

当这些货币显然不是中本聪或怀特持有的货币时,一些人用它来证明怀特博士自称中本聪这一说法是假的。然而,这一点应当被澄清:该地址不是怀特博士提交给法院的最后名单的一部分。相反,它只是怀特作为潜在的比特币地址提交的早期名单的一部分。

怀特博士在2020年1月提供了进一步的资料后,于1月14日向法院提交了他初期使用的比特币地址的最终清单,作为最终陈述。这份名单仍未公开,但怀特博士证实,本周出现在猜测中的地址不在其中。

“昨天,核心货币(BTC)网络上涉及2009年2月挖出的货币的交易第一次被转移,引发了该交易是否与我本人或我个人持有的比特币有关的不准确猜测。这些货币不是我的个人货币,我没有移动他们,正如我之前提到的,我无意抛弃BTC或搅动其他信托资产。”

我如何学会变得认真,并不再担心中本聪

对于所有比特币份子来说,其中的信息是:他们应该停止担心机器神(deus ex machina)是否会降临摧毁BTC,或者费心去争论最新的文件泄露是否揭示或证明中本聪的身份。

如果他们想在唯一可扩容的商品账本(BSV)上进行构建,那么最好把资源用于建设,而不是在资源投入到社交媒体上热论或价格投机。只有大规模的效用才能带来真实世界的回报。如果他们想继续投入交易所上的数字资产价格这个致命游戏,尽管继续,但请认清它到底是什么一回事!

BSV可能还没有被世界上的每个人使用。但即使是现在,它也正在被使用。它用于处理大量数据,用于微支付,同时用于进行简单支付。没有人为进行交易支付高昂费用,并且该网络有能力处理更多。

BTC不是数字黄金;它是数字道琼斯指数——它缺乏黄金的特性,而且还未能证明自己拥有任何黄金对冲货币通胀的历史能力。BTC是投机资产,它随着股市的热度而上下波动,而黄金则与股票进行交易,这就是为什么它是一种对冲,足以应对当前影响整体经济的坏消息。

BTC仍然坚持其高收费和有限规模,这是一个投机性的数字资产类别,最近跟踪普遍经济情绪,但随后被该行业的所有其他疯狂反扑。尽管早期在几个行业(如:内容微支付、博彩)出现了新使用案例的萌芽,但自2017年以来,除了交易所之外,几乎不见任何使用。其价格倾向于跟踪股票,而不是贵金属。由于它不能扩容,因此没有潜在的效用,更何况它的经济模式存在严重问题,因为最近的BTC奖励减半而浮上来台面。

BSV 是当今大规模扩容的唯一有工作量证明的公链,它垄断了全球公链上的微支付和不可变数据存储。它在这一方面不与任何一方竞争,这就是为什么它被低估了,因为市场还不明白这一点。

BSV和BTC不一样,再也没有必要担心一方是否应该或可能摧毁另一方。移动“聪币”或在任一市场操纵价格不重要,神秘的中本聪的举动(真实或想象)亦是。两者可以共存,因为它们采用明显不同的业务模式和用例。但需要认清的一点是,当有人说“比特币”,他们指的是BSV。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Craig Wright didn’t move any BTC—and it’s not important anyway

There was much buzz this week after rumors surfaced that 40-50 BTC had moved from a “possible Satoshi owned wallet” to an unknown address. Further analysis threw doubt on that notion and Dr. Craig Wright himself has denied he had anything to do with the transaction. Market jitters over the move proved only that BTC has little utility other than as a speculative asset, and one guided by almost superstitious forces.

The buzz, which originated from a tweet from the Whale Alert Twitter account, saw the BTC price drop by 7% over the next hour. Why? Because of the notion that if Satoshi Nakamoto is active and moving coins, that person could potentially move the rest of Satoshi’s Coins, and that would impact the market somehow.

The price dip suggests many on the digital asset trading scene remain anxious that “Satoshi” is still out there somewhere—whether they believe Dr. Wright is that Satoshi or not. If Dr. Wright is Satoshi, he might deliberately tank the BTC market he calls “Core Coin” which he no longer supports. If he isn’t, then “Satoshi” remains an unknown quantity with unknown motives.

It created speculation among both those camps—excitement among BSV fans that Dr. Wright might take decisive action against BTC, and trepidation among others for the same reason. While some are publicly vocal either in their support of or opposition to Dr. Wright’s Satoshi claims, there’s a silent (probably majority) of Bitcoiners who have no opinion either way, or who may even privately suspect Dr. Wright is actually Satoshi without saying it out loud.

In any case, this argument is becoming increasingly irrelevant as the fundamental purposes of Bitcoin SV (BSV) and BTC diverge. Both call themselves “Bitcoin,” but BSV is a micropayments network that focuses on being a commodity ledger to store and process data for enterprise usage. It already outshines BTC in sheer number of transactions and scalability. BTC is “digital gold” according to its proponents, but lacks the properties of gold and has not proven itself to have any of gold’s historic capability to hedge against monetary inflation.

Not Satoshi’s coins, not Craig Wright’s coins

Analysts and media articles later concluded that the coins moved didn’t fit the full pattern of proof necessary for them to be “Satoshi Coins” (though even this kind of analysis is subject to debates and disagreements).

They and Dr. Wright noted that, even if BTC from early 2009 moved, it could have been from any number of parties “mining” Bitcoin at the time. Satoshi’s release of the original Bitcoin beta software generated a lot of curiosity in computer science and cryptography circles. Many contributed computing power only for a short period of time; some of them saw the potential for Bitcoin straight away and others may have lost interest.

Dr. Wright also said he opted “not to speculate on the origin of the coins or the parties involved in the transaction.”

Though the identity of that early Bitcoin address isn’t known, its appearance also invoked the specter of the ongoing Wright vs Kleiman lawsuit. Some noted the sending address had been one presented in the early stages of that case’s discovery period as one potentially holding Dr. Wright’s coins.

When it became more apparent that the coins probably weren’t Satoshi’s or Wright’s, some used it as ammunition in the battle to prove Dr. Wright’s Satoshi claims false. However this should be clarified: the address is not part of the final list Dr. Wright submitted to the court. Rather, it was part of an earlier list that Wright submitted as potential Bitcoin addresses.

Dr. Wright, following delivery of further information in January 2020, submitted the more definitive list of his early Bitcoin addresses to the court on January 14 as a final statement. This list remains sealed, but Dr. Wright confirmed the address used in this week’s speculation was not on it.

“Yesterday, a transaction on the Core Coin (BTC) network involving coins that had been mined in February 2009 was moved for the first time, prompting inaccurate speculation about whether this transaction related to myself or my personal Bitcoin holdings. These coins are not my personal coins and I did not move them and as I have mentioned before I have no intent of dumping BTC or otherwise touching trust assets.”

How I learned to get serious and stop worrying about Satoshi

The takeaway from all this for Bitcoiners of all shades is this: they should stop fretting about whether some deus ex machina will swoop down to destroy BTC, or bother debating whether the latest document leak reveals or proves anything about Satoshi Nakamoto’s identity.

If they want to build on the world’s only scalable commodity ledger (BSV) then better to devote resources to building, rather than on social media hot air or price speculation. Only utility on a large scale can bring real-world rewards. If they want to continue playing Russian roulette with digital asset prices on exchanges, do that—but only with the acknowledgement of what it really is and is NOT!

BSV may not be being used by everyone in the world yet. But even now, it is being used. It’s being used to process large volumes of data, it’s being used for micropayments, and yes, it’s being used to make simple payments. No one is paying exorbitant fees on its transactions and the network has the capacity to handle much more.

BTC is not a digital gold; it’s digital Dow Jones—it lacks the properties of gold and has not proven itself to have any of gold’s historic capability to hedge against monetary inflation. BTC is speculative asset that mostly goes up and down with general equity market excitement or lack thereof, whereas gold trades against equities and that’s why it’s a hedge against bad news that affects the general economy like what is currently happening.

BTC remains stuck with its high fees and limited capacity, a speculative digital asset class that recently tracks general economic sentiments but is then overlaid with all the other craziness of the sector. Despite showing promise in its early years with new use cases sprouting in several sectors (eg: content micropayments, gaming) it has seen little usage outside of exchanges since 2017. Its price tends to track those of equities, rather than precious metals. It has no underlying utility since it cannot scale, not to mention it has serious problems with its economic model as the recent BTC halving is in the middle of exposing.

BSV, the only proof of work public blockchain that massively scales today, has a global monopoly on micropayments and immutable data storage on public blockchains. It does not compete with anyone in this space, which is why it’s undervalued as the market does not understand this yet.

BSV and BTC are not the same thing, and there’s no longer any need to worry about whether one should, or could, destroy the other. Moving “Satoshi Coins” or manipulating prices on either market doesn’t matter, nor do the actions (real or imagined) of the mythical Satoshi Nakamoto. Both can co-exist since they have clearly different business models and use cases. The main thing to clear up though is that when someone says “Bitcoin”, they mean BSV.

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[10]
[10]