比特币:这个名称中蕴含着什么意义?

我们大多数人都不知道自己是否有取名字的天赋,除非我们有幸为自己家的孩子取名字。但是行业创新者们就会有机会这样做。Craig Wright博士说,他不擅长给事物命名,而且,当他提出了一个想法后,通常会让他在nChain更面向市场的同事决定此想法的名称。

但Wright博士只是对自己太苛刻了。Wright博士以中本聪这个身份工作时,提出了 “比特币”这个名称。“比特币”这个词十分简短,简洁有趣而且浅显易懂,听起来就像某个可以在焦点群众中发挥作用的品牌名。顾问们可能要花费数月在时髦的场合中认真开会后,才能提出“比特币”这么一个名字。

没错,“比特币”是一个让人印象深刻的好名字。无论是谁想出了“COVID-19”(新冠肺炎),还是“Pfizer”(瑞辉生物制药公司)或者“AstraZeneca”(阿斯利康制药公司),也许都可以从Wright博士绝佳的命名天赋中借鉴一二。

这就是为什么这对于Wright博士来说是如此的不公平,因为他取了一个非常精准且令人难忘的名字(Bitcoin),如今却给人们带来了困惑,而不是明了。

比特币是一种新事物,不仅仅是被发明出来的,而且还是被“发布”出来的:该软件构建的目的是为了以自身为依托,保持自身的诚实性,来获得自身发展。这样看,比特币比起其他发明者的发明物,更像是‘Wright博士的孩子’。当比特币长大后(有所发展),就会摆脱对区块奖励的依赖,开始通过交易费用来谋生。说不定,比特币有一天会离家,在某个地方安顿下来呢!

但与其将比特币比作人,不如将比特币用神学进行类比,这样更容易理解比特币。比特币复杂的统一性,正是比特币命名争议的来源。表面上看,最初的区块链一分为三,形成了不合适宜的组合:BTC、BCH和比特币SV(BSV)。这三者可合三为一,但彼此间互不相同且各自独立。而从某种深层意义上来看,这三者仍是统一的。

BSV是‘比特币之子’的化身吗?尽管在2018年11月15日突然出现,但BSV不是一个新事物,而是一直都存在的吗?“太初有道。” 我们应该把BSV看作是对比特币原罪的救赎吗?

就像早期教会的辩论一样,在比特币的问题上,存在着激烈的分歧,形成了对立阵营。在外人看来,比特币问题的价值与著名的神学难题“有多少天使可以在大头针上跳舞?”一样毫无意义。您是支持犹太人民军队(Judean People’s Front),还是支持朱迪亚人民军队(People’s Front of Judea)?

所以,存在BTC、BCH和BSV。有什么问题呢?市面上有Hertz、Avis和Budget(三者均为出租汽车的公司);还有玛格丽塔(披萨)、意大利辣香肠和芝士意面酱。甚至还出现了 me and you and a dog named Boo这首歌曲呢(这是美国歌手Lobo的一首歌曲)。

如果要说问题,问题就是不同的比特币版本之间不只是神秘的神学区别。Wright博士将BTC描述为庞氏骗局。公众对BTC极具波动且显然毫无意义的价格了解得越多,那么人们对BSV的潜力就了解得越少。

Wright博士及其支持者坚称,BSV就是比特币。他们认为,其他比特币的变体版本只不过是挂羊头卖狗肉之举罢了,打着虚假的旗号发展。这些冒充顶替的数字货币甚至都不打算实现Wright博士在《比特币白皮书》中明确提到的比特币要实现的价值。

Wright博士非常欢迎其他人提出自己的区块链项目,即使他们借用了Wright博士的一些理念,但只要这些人不宣称自己是比特币就好。Wright博士不指望别人能做成功,因为他认为自己的模式才是正确的,但作为一个坚定的自由商人,他乐于看到任何人尝试任何事情。愿最好的区块链胜出。

作为一个全世界都知道的名字,“比特币”这个词本身就具有金融价值。一个商业产品要花多少钱才能获得同样的知名度?人们普遍都知道比特币,这一点其他产品很难做到,而且比特币的知名度不会很快消失。但不同寻常的是,现在有一场关于比特币的名称之争。

如果这场比特币命名之争不仅能让Wright博士夺回自己对这个词的发明所有权,还能让人们对比特币是什么以及它能做什么有更多的认识,那将是这场争议所附加带来的一个好处。然后,我们可以放弃日常使用的BSV这个交易代码,只需要指向比特币——因为比特币这个名字非常简洁好用。

202024日的“创世”协议升级是比特币历史上的一大里程碑,将见证BSV最大程度地回归到中本聪原先设想的协议。请访问“创世”硬分叉页面以了解更多信息。

要直接在您的收件箱接获CoinGeek.com最新消息,CoinGeek会议特别优惠以及其他内部信息,请加入我们的邮件列表

Bitcoin: What’s in a name?

Bitcoin: What’s in a name?

Most of us don’t find out whether we have a talent for choosing names, except if we’re lucky enough to have to pick them for our children. But innovators do. Dr. Craig Wright says he’s not good at naming things and that when he comes up with an idea, he defers to his more market-oriented colleagues at nChain to decide what it should be called. 

But he’s being too hard on himself. As Satoshi Nakamoto, Dr. Wright came up with “Bitcoin.” Short, snappy and self-explanatory. It sounds like the kind of brand name that would play well in focus groups. It could have emerged from months of work by consultants after earnest meetings in trendy offices.

Yes, “Bitcoin” has a good ring to it. Whoever came up with “COVID-19,” “Pfizer” or “AstraZeneca” could learn a thing or two from Dr. Wright’s talent for naming things.

Which is why it’s so unfair on Dr. Wright that his beautifully precise and memorable name now generates more confusion than clarity. 

Bitcoin was something new, something not just invented, but ‘released’: the software was designed to build on itself, to keep itself honest, to grow up. In that way, it was more ‘his baby’ than other inventions by other inventors. When it was older, it would shrug off its dependence on block rewards and start to earn its living through transaction fees. Who knows, maybe one day it would leave home and settle down somewhere.

But rather than thinking of Bitcoin as a person, it’s easier to use theological analogies. It is the complicated unity of Bitcoin that has caused its naming problem. On the face of it, the original blockchain has split three ways, creating an unholy trinity. BTC, BCH and Bitcoin SV (BSV). Three in one, each different and separate but in some deep sense, still united. 

Is BSV ‘the son of Bitcoin,’ the incarnation that, despite its sudden appearance on November 15 2018, is not new at all, but has always been there? “In the beginning was the Word.” Should we see BSV as redeeming the original sins of Bitcoin? 

Just like debates in the early church, there are bitter schisms that create opposing camps over questions about Bitcoin which, to outsiders, look about as worthwhile as the famous theological puzzle “how many angels can dance on the head of a pin?” Are you with the Judean People’s Front or the People’s Front of Judea? 

So there’s BTC, BCH and BSV. What’s the problem? There’s Hertz, Avis and Budget. There’s margherita, pepperoni and quattro formaggi. There’s me and you and a dog named Boo.

Well, the problem is that there’s more than an arcane theological distinction between the different Bitcoins. Dr. Wright describes BTC as a Ponzi scheme. The more that the public hears about BTC’s wildly volatile and apparently meaningless price, the less the potential of BSV will be understood. 

Dr. Wright and his supporters insist that BSV is Bitcoin. They believe the other variants have simply appropriated the name and are sailing under false colours. They are not even aiming to fulfil Dr Wright’s idea of what Bitcoin can achieve, as he set out clearly in the White Paper.

He is very open to people coming up with their own blockchain projects, even if they borrow some of his ideas, as long as they don’t claim them to be Bitcoin. He doesn’t expect others to succeed because he thinks he got the formula right but as a committed free-marketer he’s delighted for anyone to try anything. May the best blockchain win.

As a name known the world over, the very word “Bitcoin” has a financial value. How much would a commercial product have to pay to achieve the same kind of name recognition? That widespread awareness is hard to achieve and doesn’t fade fast. But, unusually, there’s now a fight over what Bitcoin is the name of

If, as well as giving back Dr. Wright his proprietary rights over the word he invented, that fight leads to greater awareness of what Bitcoin is and what it can do, that will be a useful spinoff. We can then abandon the BSV ticker symbol in everyday use and just refer to Bitcoin—because it’s beautifully simple.  

New to Bitcoin? Check out CoinGeek’s Bitcoin for Beginners section, the ultimate resource guide to learn more about Bitcoin—as originally envisioned by Satoshi Nakamoto—and blockchain.

[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]
[id^="_form"]
[id^="_form"]
[id$="_submit"]
[id$="_submit"]
[^;]
[^;]
[?&]
[?&]
[^&#]
[^&#]
[(d+)]
[(d+)]
[elem.name]
[elem.name]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-'&=]
[+_a-z0-9-']
[+_a-z0-9-']
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z0-9-]
[a-z]
[a-z]
[el.name]
[el.name]